Media Kit

Below, you will find an official bio, high-resolution author and cover images, and book info. For additional information or inquiries, please contact Kate Testerman at KT Literary or email Jamie at jamiepacton@outlook.com

Author Bio

Jamie Pacton is a Young Adult and Middle Grade author who grew up minutes away from the National Storytelling Center in the mountains of East Tennessee. She has a BA and MA in English Literature, and currently teaches English at the college level. While pursuing her dream of being an author, she worked as a waitress, pen salesperson, lab assistant, art museum guard, bookseller, pool attendant, nanny, and lots of other weird jobs in between. Her writing has appeared in national and local magazines, and she spent many years blogging for Parents.com. Currently, Jamie lives in Wisconsin with her family and a dog named Lego. The Life and (Medieval) Times of Kit Sweetly is her YA debut novel and her sophomore novel, Lucky Girl, is forthcoming in Spring 2021. She has also published a MG novel, Farfetched, under the pen name Finn Colazo. Find Jamie online at www.jamiepacton.com and on Instagram and Twitter @JamiePacton.

Photos

Click the images to download high-resolution versions.

Photo credit: Adam Pacton
Design by @novellapixel
  
Illustrations by @theminaprice

Book Details

Title: Lucky Girl

Release Date: May 11, 2021
Hardcover: 240 pages
Language: English
Publisher: Page Street

ISBN-10: 1645672085
ISBN-13: 978-1645672081

Buy links: 

Amazon | B&N | Bookshop | IndieBound | Book Depository |Target |Goodreads |

Book Summary

In Jamie Pacton’s hilarious and poignant sophomore novel, a teen wins the lotto jackpot and suspicion and jealousy spread through her small town before she can claim her prize. Perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell and Becky Albertalli.

58,643,129. That’s how many dollars seventeen-year-old Fortuna Jane Belleweather just won in the lotto jackpot. It’s also about how many reasons she has for not coming forward to claim her prize.
 
Problem #1: Jane is still a minor, and if anyone discovers she bought the ticket underage, she’ll either have to forfeit the ticket, or worse…

Problem #2: Let her hoarder mother cash it. The last thing Jane’s mom needs is millions of dollars to buy more junk. Then…

Problem #3: Jane’s best friend, aspiring journalist Brandon Kim, declares on the news that he’s going to find the lucky winner. It’s one thing to keep her secret from the town, it’s another thing entirely to lie to her best friend. Especially when…
 
Problem #4: Jane’s ex-boyfriend, Holden, is suddenly back in her life, and he has big ideas about what he’d do with the prize money.

As suspicion and jealousy turn neighbor against neighbor, and no good options for cashing the ticket come forward, Jane begins to wonder: Could this much money actually be a bad thing?

Praise for Lucky Girl

“Lucky Girl is for every person who has ever felt unable to help those they love, stuck and yearning for a better life, and unwilling to give up on themself – or others.”
-Noelle Salazar, USA Today bestselling author of The Flight Girls

“This emotionally complex book is a gorgeous portrayal of small-town life, complicated family relationships, mental health, grief, and friendship that will make you question the concept of ‘good luck.’” —Lizzy Mason, author, in Bookish/NetGalley’s 2021’s Must-Read YA Novels According to YA Authors


“With heart, humor, and honesty, Lucky Girl explores what it truly means to have enough. Jamie Pacton has written another smart, relatable heroine readers will rootfor to the last page (and beyond!).”
―Joy McCullough, author of Blood Water Paint

“A sweet, thoughtful, and quick romp, perfect for readers wanting some laughs while also looking for answers to some of life’s biggest questions about love, death, self-worth, and, of course, money.” – School Library Journal

“This contemporary novel remains wonderfully true to its world and its characters throughout.”  —  Booklist

“To say that this book hit me out of the blue would be a gross understatement. Here I was, thinking I could read a chapter of this before going to bed and boom, it’s three hours later and I have a new YA contemporary favourite….Lucky Girl encompasses everything I want and need in a good YA contemporary—fast-paced narration without forfeiting fleshing out characters, conundrums that make you think about your own choices in life, and plunging into emotional topics that will have you reeling.” ―Mimi Koehler, writing for The Nerd Daily

“With a fresh take on the many forms of love and grief, Pacton brings readers a unique dramedy about a girl and her lotto ticket.”
―Jennifer Dugan, author of Hot Dog Girl and Verona Comics

Design by @novellapixel
  
Illustrations by @theminaprice

Book Details

Title: The Life and (Medieval) Times of Kit Sweetly

Release Date: May 5, 2020
Hardcover: 384 pages
Language: English
Publisher: Page Street

ISBN-10: 1624149529
ISBN-13: 978-1624149528

Buy links

Amazon| Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | IndieBound | Target

Praise for THE LIFE AND (MEDIEVAL) TIMES OF KIT SWEETLY

“A rousing, funny, feminist workplace fantasy that also takes a frank look at modern poverty.” Kirkus Reviews

“Debut author Pacton has a light touch, deftly balancing details of the real Middle Ages and the fake Castle version, and setting up Kit’s feminist battle with the higher-ups through the teen’s entertaining first-person narrative.” — Publisher’s Weekly

“Jamie Pacton’s pitch-perfect debut novel has nerves of steel beneath its mischievous exterior…A fantastic blend of frankness, feminism, and pure fun.” — BookPage

“Kit is passionate about history and gender equality, and her enthusiasm carries this quirky tale of a modern battle set on an old-timer stage.” — NPR

[The Life and Medieval Times of Kit Sweetly] is a strong voice for feminism and workplace equality. Fans of Rainbow Rowell will appreciate the relatable characters and a cause to root for.” –  School Library Journal

“A smart, fun, feminist romp with lots and lots of heart. You’ll be cheering for Kit Sweetly all the way on her quest to be seen and heard as she is.” – Brittany Cavallaro, New York Times bestselling author of A Study in Charlotte

“For every girl who’s been told she can’t, and shows them all that she will. This fun and feminist book stole my heart from the first page.” – Sonia Hartl, author of Have a Little Faith in Me 

“For anyone who’s ever had a roadblock to their dreams. A funny, fierce, inclusive story that will leave you feeling ready to draw your own sword and ride into battle. Kit is my champion!” – M.K. England, author of The Disasters and Spellhacker

“As a former serving wench, I can confirm this book is accurate. As a current bookseller, I can confirm this book is AMAZING. A must-read for everyone who ever dreamed of wielding a sword and jousting into the sunset.” – Amanda Quain, One More Page Books

“Full of high-octane sass, girl-power, quirky historical tidbits, and just the right amount of delicious romance. A fun, page-turning delight.” – Joy Preble, Brazos Bookstore

“This mix of workplace comedy, working class struggle, and gender equality activism is sure to please YA fans, whether or not you’ve ever picked up a sword or ridden a horse.” – Cecilia Cackley, East City Bookshop

“A sharp comedy and a poignant, unflinching portrayal of the working poor that will have you laughing one moment and determined to change the world the next. You won’t be able to put it down until you see if this Lady Knight comes out on top.” – Melissa Poston, The Novel Neighbor

“Hilarious and heartfelt, Jamie Pacton’s debut is not to be missed.” – Mike Lasagna, The Barking Goose Bookstore

“Curl up with a blanket and some cocoa, for reading this book in one sitting is certain to be a knight to remember.” – Rachel Strolle, Teen Services Coordinator, Glenside Public Library District

Book Summary

Joust like a girl. 

Moxie meets A Knight’s Tale as Kit Sweetly slays sexism, bad bosses, and bad luck to become a knight at a medieval-themed restaurant.

Working as a wench―i.e. waitress―at a cheesy medieval-themed restaurant in the Chicago suburbs, Kit Sweetly dreams of being a knight like her brother. She has the moves, is capable on a horse, and desperately needs the raise that comes with knighthood, so she can help her mom pay the mortgage and hold a spot at her dream college.

Company policy allows only guys to be knights. So when Kit takes her brother’s place and reveals her identity at the end of the show, she rockets into internet fame and a whole lot of trouble with the management. But the Girl Knight won’t go down without a fight. As other wenches join her quest, a protest forms. In a joust before Castle executives, they’ll prove that gender restrictions should stay medieval―if they don’t get fired first.

Media Coverage

Kirkus Review of KIT

Frolic Cover Reveal and Chapter 1